top of page
Writer's pictureKiley Smith

Skin Prep for Your Skin Type

Updated: Jun 9, 2023

Makeup is an art; like any painting, it requires a prepped canvas. In my case, the canvas I work with is your skin. Preparing your skin before applying makeup is crucial whether you have dry, oily, combination, or sensitive skin. Not only does it make your makeup look flawless, but it also helps to protect your skin from damage. After reading this post, you will be surprised how much work goes into skin prep.

We are all unique, with distinct skin characteristics. Although I am not a fan of labeling skin as specific "types," I believe that for clarity, it can be helpful for readers to comprehend this way. Every skin type that I handle undergoes an exfoliating treatment. For this purpose, I employ a gentle gommage exfoliator. The term 'gommage' derives from the French word 'erasing.' A gommage treatment

involves the application of a paste onto the skin, which is left to dry. As the product dries, enzymes within the formula work to break down dead skin cells. Gentle friction is then applied to rub away the product and the dissolved dead skin cells. A gommage I use on all my clients is Sonia Roselli's Sexapeel. Sexapeel

is formulated for sensitive skin and can be used all over the body.


Dry Skin

After exfoliating with a gommage, I begin with a hydrating oil, such as Sonia Roselli's Water Oil, to boost the skin's moisture. I then follow up with a moisturizer formulated for dry skin. One that I love is Sonia Roselli's Intense Barrier Cream. I usually start with eye makeup to let the moisturizer sink in for 10-15 minutes. I typically avoid heavy, oil-based moisturizers, which can make your skin look greasy and cause makeup to slide off.


Oily Skin


If you have oily skin, your skin produces excess oil, making your makeup a bit slippery. This is why I begin by cleansing your skin thoroughly and using a toner to remove excess oil. I then exfoliate. Apply an oil-free moisturizer that is specifically formulated for oily skin. This will help control oil and keep your makeup in place. Look for a foundation that is oil-free and has a matte finish.


Combination Skin

If you have combination skin, you'll want to use different products on different areas of your face. Use a hydrating moisturizer on the dry areas of your face and a mattifying moisturizer on the oily areas. Use a mattifying primer on the oily areas of your face and a hydrating primer on the dry areas. Choose a foundation that is lightweight and has a natural finish.


Sensitive Skin

If you have sensitive skin, you'll want to use gentle and non-irritating products. I ensure that

most skincare products I use on clients are always fragrance-free and hypoallergenic. This is especially important for sensitive skin clients. I start with a gentle cleanser to cleanse the skin and a light moisturizer specifically formulated for sensitive skin. My clients with sensitive skin fare well with at-home use of mineral-based foundations free of harsh chemicals with a natural finish.


Remember to choose products that are specifically formulated for your skin type. If you don't know your skin type, meet with an esthetician or dermatologist who will help you. With the proper prep, your makeup will look flawless and stay in place all day.

16 views0 comments

Komentarze


bottom of page